Larrakeyah Primary School Our school our future

Awards & Recognition

Acknowledging our progress

Our leadership, teachers, and staff continuously innovate to better our programs and fulfil our school mission: to instil life-long learning through high standards, high expectations and high achievement. Achievement is reflected in our school values and motto: “Pathways to excellence”. As our school keeps improving, the quality of our programs are now being recognised on both the national and international stage.

The Educators Hot List 2022

The Educator’s Hot List recognises those who direct the learning experience to help young people excel and thrive. Across Australia’s education landscape, teachers are demonstrating their influence in extraordinary ways, ranging from pioneering school–industry partnerships and vast networks of influential educators to helping supercharge students’ STEM education through world-class entrepreneurial learning programs.

Principal, Fathma Mauger was a winner and recognised for her innovation in education and programs to extend students’ learning through 21st century learning skills, inquiry programs, QUEST and STEAM. She has worked to enable Larrakeyah Primary to develop international partnerships with schools in Singapore, China and Malaysia.

Danni Mattiazzo, Head of Curriculum was also a winner for her open and inquiring mind and constantly looks at change as an opportunity to improve student outcomes. She loves planning Whole School STEAM Days that engage the school community and inspire the future generation to use 21st century skills, creativity, collaboration, communication and critical thinking.

To read their profiles visit - Hot List 2022 | The Educator K/12 (

Australian Education Awards

The annual Australian Education Awards is the leading independent awards event for K-12 education institutions. The awards showcase the top-performing schools, principals, department heads and teachers for their outstanding achievements and transformative work that makes a profound difference to the lives of young people across Australia.

In 2022, Larrakeyah won the Australian Education Awards, winning Best STEM Program. This award recognises a 4 year journey, starting with learning about 21st Century Learning, 4C’s and research into best STEM practice.

For her leadership and role in directing our school and STEAM programs our Principal, Fathama Mauger, was shortlisted for ‘Primary School Principal of the Year – Government’.

Danni Mattiazzo, was shortlisted for and ‘Department Head of the Year’ in recognition of her outstanding contribution to teaching and learning. 

Professional Teachers’ Association of the Northern Territory (PTANT)

In 2022, Preschool teacher Mary Boeck, was awarded the Preschool Education award for her meritorious contributions to the teaching profession in the NT. Mary has volunteered her services to PSTANT over many years. Throughout her time, she has held many positions including her current role as president. Mary has built effective and professional networks with other preschools across Darwin and Top End.

Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards

The Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards recognise the contribution of Northern Territory Government school teachers, principals, leaders and support staff to quality education. The award categories recognise high-quality educators who exhibit exceptional leadership, pedagogical skill and knowledge, and who deliver outstanding results in their respective area of expertise.

In 2022, Assistant Principal Natasha Guse was a finalist in the Leader in Education category.

Shorebirds Competition

The ANSTO Education Team hosted its fifth annual Shorebirds Competition. Students in Years 3 to 6 across Australia were invited to create a public awareness poster highlighting an important wetland or coastal habitat of shorebirds. Year 5/6 Spruhan participated in this inquiry unit with two students recognised for their efforts. Representative of Larrakeyah Primary School, Chloe Higginbotham was recognised for her best slogan, which features on the ANSTO website.

World’s Best School Prizes Award

The T4 World’s Best School Prizes aims to celebrate and showcase how schools around the globe contribute and impact the development of society with their approach, programs, and initiatives. Through sharing the expertise of trailblazing schools, the prizes hope to inspire the education community worldwide.

In 2022, Larrakeyah made it to the Top 3 in the ‘Supporting Healthy Lives’ category. Significantly, our school is only the second Australian school to ever be shortlisted and recognised at this level.

International School Awards

The International School Awards celebrate learning, teaching, community, wellbeing, leadership and other strategic initiatives at international schools. They provide the opportunity for international schools to share best practice, creative endeavours, community participation, and innovation.

In 2022, Larrakeyah Primary School was shortlisted at the International School Awards for the category “Pathways to Continued and University Education Award”. Our QUEST program was highlighted for this award. Larrakeyah Primary was the only Australian school to be shortlisted as a finalist.

NT Excellence in Teaching Awards

The Teaching in the Territory Excellence Awards recognises the contribution to quality education of Northern Territory Government (NTG) schools.

NT Excellence in Teaching Awards 2021 – Larrakeyah Primary School was proud to have three finalists representing our school, Ashleigh Church: NT Indigenous Educator of the Year, Danni Mattiazzo: NT Leader of the Year and Fathma Mauger: NT Principal of the Year.

Fathma Mauger won the award for NT Principal of the Year-Darwin Region and Danni Mattiazzo won the award for the NT Leader of the Year-Darwin Region.

Tournament of Minds

In 2021, Larrakeyah Primary School entered two teams in Tournament of Minds (ToMs). The team “Wonderland Wonders” received an honourable mention (second place) in the Language Literature category.

In 2020, Larrakeyah Primary School participated in ToMs via a video entry. The team received an honourable mention (second place) in the Social Science category – there were a total of 92 entries.

In October 2019, the ToMs International Finals were held in Hobart with teams from across the world attending to compete in rigorous challenges. The “Larrakeyah Legends” team got to participate and represent the Northern Territory at the tournament.


Larrakeyah Primary School entered two teams in the 2019 Northern Territory Robocup Junior Titles. One team entered the Rescue section and we had a winning entry in the Onstage Dance section.

School hours: Monday - Friday

Primary School: 08:15 AM - 2:45 PM
Supervision is provided before school (8:00 AM - 8:15 AM)
and after school (2:45 PM - 3:00 PM).

Preschool: 08:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Front Office: 08:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Your independent public school right in the heart of Darwin
Your independent public school right in the heart of Darwin

© 2015 Larrakeyah Primary

Darwin Web Design by Dash Media